what is blooms taxonomy

What is Blooms Taxonomy?

What is Blooms Taxonomy? Bloom’s taxonomy is an amazing system that has been published by a team of cognitive psychologists at the University of Chicago. It was originally published in 1956 and was revised in 2001. It’s named as bloom’s taxonomy after the committee’s chairman, Benjamin Bloom (1913–1999)

What is Blooms Taxonomy?
What is Blooms Taxonomy?

Benjamin Bloom

February 21, 1913
Lansford, Pennsylvania, US

September 13, 1999 (aged 86)
Chicago, Illinois, US

Notable Ideas

  • Bloom’s taxonomy
  • Bloom’s 2 sigma problem
  • Mastery learning

Bloom’s taxonomy is a hierarchical system that categorizes the thinking skills of students, starting from recalling information which is that the simplest skill to evaluation, which involves judging and stating an opinion about information. Bloom’s taxonomy also can be identified as an efficient tool that teachers and students can use to form lesson plans and tests within the bid to encourage critical thinking. This text on Bloom’s taxonomy aims to guage the concept of Bloom’s taxonomy yet as identify its benefits and therefore the effective techniques that may use to effectively use the tool.

What is Blooms Taxonomy?
What is Blooms Taxonomy?

What is Original Taxonomy?

The original taxonomy was organized into three parts such as Cognitive, Affective, and Psychomotor. But scholars have primarily focused on the Cognitive model, which has six different classification levels. Those six categorizes has been described in the Taxonomy of education objectives very well.

It is better to point out the authors’ brief explanations of these six different classifications in from the appendix of Taxonomy of Educational Objectives in for your better understanding. (Handbook One, pp. 201-207):

Evaluation engenders “judgments about the value of material and methods for given purposes.”

Synthesis involves the “putting together of elements and parts so as to form a whole.”

Analysis represents the “breakdown of a communication into its constituent elements or parts such that the relative hierarchy of ideas is made clear and/or the relations between ideas expressed are made explicit.”

Application refers to the “use of abstractions in particular and concrete situations.”

Comprehension “refers to a type of understanding or apprehension such that the individual knows what is being communicated and can make use of the material or idea being communicated without necessarily relating it to other material or seeing its fullest implications.”

Knowledge “involves the recall of specifics and universals, the recall of methods and processes, or the recall of a pattern, structure, or setting.”

The group sought to style a logical framework for teaching and learning goals that might help researchers and educators understand the basic ways during which people acquire and develop new knowledge, skills, and understandings. Their initial intention was to assist academics avoid duplicative or redundant efforts in developing different tests to live the identical educational objectives.

What is Revised Taxonomy?

The framework was revised in 2001 by Lorin Anderson and David Krathwohl, yielding the revised Bloom’s Taxonomy. The most important change that was happened in the second edition is the removal of ‘Synthesis’ and the addition of ‘Creation’ as the highest-level of Bloom’s Taxonomy. And being at the highest level, the implication is that it’s the most complex or demanding cognitive skill–or at least represents a kind of pinnacle for cognitive tasks.

What are the six levels of Blooms Taxonomy?

1. Create.

This is the first level that definitely should be followed by teachers and also students. Example activities at the Creation level: design a new solution to an ‘old’ problem that honors/acknowledges the previous failures, delete the least useful arguments in a persuasive essay, write a poem based on a given theme and tone.

2. Evaluate.

Evaluating is also most important for teachers as well as students to manage their lessons. Example activities at the Evaluation level: make a judgment regarding an ethical dilemma, interpret the significance of a given law of physics, illustrate the relative value of a technological innovation in a specific setting—a tool that helps recover topsoil farming, for example.

3. Analyze.

Third level is analyzing. Example activities at the Analysis level: identify the ‘parts of’ democracy, explain how the steps of the scientific process work together, identify why a machine isn’t working

4. Apply.

This is the fourth level where teachers and also students must apply the things they analyzed. Example activities at the Application level: use a formula to solve a problem, select a design to meet a purpose, reconstruct the passage of a new law through a given government/system

5. Understand.

This is the fifth level where they must understand the stuffs they’ve applied. Example activities at the Understanding level: organize the animal kingdom based on a given framework, illustrate the difference between a rectangle and square, and summarize the plot of a simple story

6. Remember.

This is the last level where teachers and also students must remember the stuffs they understood. Example activities at the Remembering level: memorize a poem, recall state capitals, and remember math formulas etc.

According to the aforementioned factors, you can clearly understand what blooms taxonomy is and what the benefits are. These Blooms taxonomies are crucial factors for every language learners and language teachers. They can easily manage their learning and teaching process when they follow Blooms taxonomy.

What is Blooms Taxonomy?

Relevant Articles

What Is Process Writing And Its Structures | Powerful Tips To Write An Effective Writing
8 Effective Writing Techniques – Every writers must know


  1. Bloom “s taxonomy is an integrated part of teaching. I’m very happy to meet you. I request you to send me more about it and all.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here